SIRO logo in front of the Cliffs of Moher

SIRO has broken ground in Monksland, Co. Roscommon

SIRO's Gigabit broadband is now available in 25 towns.

Earlier this week, SIRO celebrated ‘Gimme Fibre’ day by breaking ground in Monksland, Co. Roscommon, which is one of the first 25 ‘SIRO towns’.

‘Gimme Fibre’ day is an initiative organised by the Fibre-to-the-Home (FTTH) Council to celebrate FTTH technology.

SIRO is the only Irish operator member of the Council, whose mission is to accelerate the availability of ultra-high-speed fibre access networks for the benefit of consumers and businesses.

The council advocates how fibre communications positively impacts communities and competitiveness and facilitates European policy goals such as the Digital Agenda and the Digital Single Market.

SIRO and Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment Denis Naughten have also requested that Ireland be included in the next league table from the FTTH Council, which is due to be published in February.

Minister Naughten said that the conversation in Ireland is changing from last mile copper and cable to fibre and - with the latest ComReg statistics showing total FTTH subscriptions at 20,000 - it’s time Ireland was included in the league table.

SIRO’s CEO, Sean Atkinson, said that in the two years since SIRO launched they have changed the conversation about broadband in Ireland, and there is now a clear recognition that FTTH is the future.

He added: “SIRO is proud to be the only Irish operator member of the FTTH Council and with over 12,000 customers ourselves alone, we have requested that Ireland be included in the next FTTH league table due in February 2018.”

The first phase of SIRO’s FTTH rollout is currently ongoing with services due to be made available to 500,000 homes and businesses in 50 regional towns.

Services powered by SIRO are already live or under construction in 25 towns across the country – Dundalk, Carrigaline, Sligo, Letterkenny, Tralee, Cavan, Wexford, Skibbereen, Drogheda, Mullingar, Portlaoise, Ennis, Castlebar, Westport, Limerick, Newbridge, Carlow, Swords, Balbriggan, Bray, Greystones, Athlone, Killarney, Shannon and Mallow.